OSD Lab1 report

·

3 min read

OSD is a "Open Source Development" course I am taking. Part of that course Is to make a blog that will allow one to better connect with opensource community. My first self-reflective post called Becoming a Developer had 17. It is getting viral!

Now, to the lab1

Step 1. Networking on Slack

I was quite active on a slack, but then I made my request too detailed. Here how it looked like:

Loran:

Hi all, I am looking for Lab1 partner. Ping me if following is ok for you:

-I can review code in Python, C++

-I probably can review C#, Java, Rust, Bash

-I am really not used to JavaScript syntax, not sure if my review would be that effective

-you don't mind reviewing Python code.

-you plan to do lab 1 close to the deadline

A lot of thought went to this request. First, "lab1 partner" is bold, designed to catch eye of anyone who is looking for a partner. (Request was made on Tuesday, and lab was due on Friday) To make sure not too many people would respond, I hinted, that I don't want to review any JavaScript code (which is 70% of a students) To further decrease amount of people, I did let everyone know, that I will be able to work on the lab very close to the deadline (It was bad idea to start working on release1 and lab1 that late, I am still recovering from that decision and not fully caught up with coursework.)

And... No one replied in the thread. Perhaps I went too detailed with my request. Or maybe defused responsibility did not allow anyone to respond to person looking for a partner. I figured others were trying to find their partners somewhere in private messages, not that much on public space.

Now I was scared, that now I probably will have to find that one person that is also doing everything last minute, and they would be unfortunately JavaScript programmer. I left this problem to wait until the day of a deadline.

And then I found where direct messages located in slack. Apparently my crafty message was a success! But, by the time I got to that 4 people to find out how many of them are are not using JavaScript, they already have found their partners.

So I had to message one last person, who seemed to be looking for a partner on the morning of the deadline. Guess what language did I ended up reviewing?

Step 3. Review and File Issues

I used GitHub web interface to file Issues. Since by the time I had submit this lab, the code was not fully running, I filed one most obvious issue.

Step 4. Have Your Project Reviewed and Tested

I got 5 issues. But my code was not yet fully running as well (of course! starting that late).

Step 5. Fix Your Issues

I am fixing them a little by little. Hey, my code runs now! And I got few more issues from other partner to fix.

Step 6. Blog About the Process and Outcomes

Here we are! By the way, it took me 1h, 20m to wright this post. I am 20 minutes behind my schedule.